L to R: Nkem Chukwumerije (ANPA President), Mike Ogirima (President, NMA), Dr. Joshua Atah ( NUC IT/Research Executive), Dr. Abdulmumini Ibrahim (Registrar MDCN), Johnson Adeyanju (ANPA President-elect)), Mike Etomi (ANPA Past President) and Nicholas Azinge (Commissioner for Health)



ANPA: Nkem Chukwumerije (President), Johnson Adeyanju (President-elect)), Charmaine Emelife (Treasurer),  Mike Etomi (Immediate Past President),  Clifford Eke, Barbara Onyia, Ajovi Scott-Emuakpor, Abraham Osinbowale, Gideon Adegbile, Timi Edeki, Wale Sulaiman, Temidayo Adelekun, Patrick Evivie,  Oranu Ibekie, Ezinne Emeruwa, Ukachi Emeruwa, Mercy Edionwe, Echezona Okoli, Phillip Igbinadolor, Lawrence Adu, Iheanacho Emeruwa, Obiloh Egu, Emeka Okeke, Ifeyinwa Benyeoyon, Philip Osehobo, Segun Dawodu, Bayo Tojuola, George Ozoude,  Chima Uwaukwa, Ebele Nwaukwa, Ngozi Osuagwu, Adanna Anyikam, Stanley Okoro, Nnamdi Maduekwe,  Uche Ofoma, Sunday A. Fawole, Tinuke Fawole, Christopher Okunseri, Jerome Nwokike, Ben Nwomeh, Ike Ilochonwu, John K. Ijena.

MANSAG: Babatunde Gbolade (President, MANSAG)

MINISTRY OF HEALTH (DELTA STATE): Dr. Nicholas Azinge (Commissioner for Health)

MDCN: Dr. Abdulmumini Ibrahim (Registrar)

NMA: Dr. Mike Ogirima (President, NMA)

NUC: Dr. Joshua Atah ( IT/Research Executive)

SENATE COMMITTEE ON HEALTH: Dr. Rukevwe Ugwumba (Special Adviser to the Senate Committee on Health)

NAPPSA: Mohammed Ladan

The meeting was called to order at 5:00 pm by ANPA’s President,  Dr. Nkem Chukwumerije. He then called on Dr. Mike Etomi (ANPA’s Immediate Past President to act as the moderator. Mike gave a brief overview of efforts made by ANPA since February 2014 in engaging the Nigerian Senate and House Committees on Health, National Universities Commission (NUC), Federal Ministry of Health, Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MDCN) and the  Supreme Court of Nigeria at Abuja. This was followed by a meeting with representatives of the various bodies, the Nigerian Embassy, and Nigerian Consulates (Atlanta and New York)  in Los Angeles, California, during the 2014 ANPA Convention. Follow-up meetings were held with the various agencies during the ANPA Week in Nigeria in March/April 2016 culminating in today’s meeting. He then called on Professor Scott-Emuakpor to discuss the details of ANPA’s 2014 meeting with the various agencies in Los Angeles.

Dr. Mike Ogirima, NMA’s President later spoke about the challenges facing NMA, especially the problem of incessant strikes by Nigerian doctors due to lack of payment of salaries. Another strike has just been called off by the National Association of Resident Doctors (NARD) due to lack of payment of salaries and other issues between the Ministry of Health and the resident doctors. He stated that his 40,000 member organization also is facing challenges from the union of other allied health personnel (JOHESU) who are demanding parity with physicians in promotion and executive positions in the Nigerian health system. He is seeking ANPA’s help in addressing some of the issues nagging NMA in the present Nigerian healthcare delivery system.

Dr. Ibrahim (MDCN Registrar) spoke at length about the role of MDCN in the practice of Medicine and Dentistry as well as accreditation of Medical and Dental Schools in Nigeria citing the act establishing the MDCN. He also spoke about the disciplinary measures the MDCN has taken in addressing illegal medical and dental practices in Nigeria.  He stated that MDCN has established a diaspora desk for the use of ANPA, MANSAG and CANPAD members to facilitate license registration for the members of these various organizations. He briefly described the steps to obtaining provisional and full registration with MDCN and directed members to the MDCN website for further information. He stated that 20 Continuing Professional Education Units are needed for annual renewal of registration with MDCN. At this point, ANPA’s President, Dr. Nkem Chukwumerije confirmed that ANPA is now a CPD (Continuous Professional Development) provider for MDCN and that CME credits obtained during ANPA’s Conventions can be used towards MDCN’s CPD requirements for annual license renewal. Dr. Ibrahim spoke about the challenges facing the MDCN in terms of lack of continuity of membership of its Board whose members are usually appointed by the Federal Government. He concluded that MDCN welcomes ANPA’s support and cooperation in collating the list of Nigerian physicians in the United States and their areas of specialization as well as collaboration in the area of information technology.

Dr. Nicholas Azinge, Delta State’s Commissioner for Health spoke about the challenges facing the National Council on Health and the National Health Act which was passed and signed in the latter part of 2014. He stated that he was also in the United States of America as a practicing physician prior to taking the position of Delta’s Commissioner for Health. He spoke about the impressive role some ANPA members are playing in offering needed tertiary/specialty care in Delta State University Teaching Hospital (DELSUTH) and implored other ANPA members and members of MANSAG and CANPAD to come home and help with Nigeria’s health delivery system.

Dr. Joshua Atah, NUC’s IT/Research Executive showed a video on NUC’s capability to transmit real time online telemedicine between Nigeria and any part of the world and implored ANPA to move on with its plan on telemedicine to Nigerian medical Schools and health institutions. He will be working closely with ANPA’s IT Committee headed by Dr. Tagbo Ekwonu and Professor Wale Sulaiman (Chair, ANPA’s Consultancy Committee).

Dr. Mike Etomi gave the closing comments on the need to continue the dialogue with the various governmental and nongovernmental agencies and other stakeholders  in order to accomplish ANPA’s vision of a “Healthier Nigeria in a Healthier World”

In the absence of further discussions, the meeting was adjourned at 6:30 pm.

Respectfully submitted by:

Abraham Osinbowale, MD

Chairman, ANPA’s Advocacy Committee





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *